Board of Administrators

President: M. Jean-Claude WAQUET

Statutory members

Representing the state:

  • The representative of the director general of Higher Education, Ministry of Higher Education and Research, Brigitte PLATEAU
  • The representative of the Ministry of Europe and Foreign Affairs, Jean-Yves LE DRIAN


Representing the Institut de France:

  • Mme Marianne BASTID-BRUGUIERE, member of the Académie des Sciences Morales et Politiques, representative of the Perpetual Secretary
  • M. Pierre-Sylvain FILLIOZAT, member of the Académie des inscriptions et Belles-Lettres
  • M. Jean-Noël ROBERT, member of the Académie des inscriptions et Belles-Lettres
  • M. Franciscus VERELLEN, member of the Académie des inscriptions et Belles-Lettres, representative of the Perpetual Secretary


Representing the Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique (CNRS):

  • Antoire PETIT, president of the CNRS, represented by Mme Sylvie DEMURGER, deputy scientific director "Europe and international" of the Institut des Sciences Humaines et Sociales, represented by Mr. Fabrice BOUDJAABA, Deputy Scientific Director of InSHS or Mrs. Diane BRAMI, Head of International Cooperation of InSHS


A former head of a public higher education and research institution:

  • M.Jean-Paul DEMOULE, former president of the Institut national de recherches archéologiques préventices (INRAP)


Professional members:

  • Mme Michelle BUBENICEK, director of the École nationale des Chartes
  • Mme Manuelle FRANCK, president of the Institut National des Langues et Civilisations Orientales (INALCO)
  • Mme Cristina SCHERER-SCHAUB, professor à l'unviersité de Lausanne
  • M. Jean-Claude WAQUET, professor and former president, Ecole Pratique des Hautes Etudes (EPHE)


Representing the faculty of EFEO professors:

  • Daniel PERRET; sustitute: Dominic GOODALL


Representing the faculty of EFEO lecturers:

  • Luca GABBIANI; substitute: Paola CALANCA
  • Valérie GILLET; substitute: Brice VINCENT


Representing EFEO administrative staff:

  • Lauriane LECAT-BACLE; substitute: Vincent PAILLUSSON
  • Magali MOREL

Consultative members (EFEO)

  • The director, Christophe MARQUET
  • The director of administrative services, Valérie LIGER-BELAIR
  • The chief financial officer, Christophe LE MAUX
  • The director of studies, Christophe POTTIER
  • The curator of the Library, François-Xavier ANDRÉ
EFEO Field Scholarships - 2nd Semester 2020
14 March 2020
The deadline for submitting an application to an EFEO Field Scholarships for Master and PhD students enabling a field study in Asia at one of the EFEO centers is set to the 14th of March 2020.
Paris EFEO/ASIES Seminar
Paris, France, 24 February 2020
Alain Arrault (EFEO) speaks on: "Écrire l'histoire en Chine" [Writing History in China] as part of the PSL-EHESS-EPHE-EFEO Master in Asian Studies, the general theme of which is Telling and writing history.

From 10:30 to 12:00, opened to all
Maison de l'Asie, 22, avenue du Président Wilson, 75116 Paris, Grand salon, 1st floor
New publication

Arts Asiatiques 74 (2019)

Read more

Preserving and enhancing Laos heritage: signing of a new project in Champassak and Savannakhet
Vientiane, Laos, 10 February 2020
On February 10, 2020, at the French Embassy in Vientiane, the Director of the EFEO signed an agreement with the French Development Agency for a project to preserve and develop heritage in the provinces of Champassak and Savannahket, in the presence of the Lao Vice-Minister of Information, Culture, and Tourism. READ MORE
Director's visit to the Chiang Mai Centre
Chiang Mai, Thailand, 06 February 2020
Le directeur de l’EFEO a signé le 6 février 2020 le renouvellement du MOU avec la Chiang Mai University, avec son président, en présence d’Yves Goudineau, responsable du Centre EFEO de Chiang Mai.