President: Jacques BERLIOZ

Statutory members

Representing the state:

  • The director general of Higher Education, Ministry of Higher Education and Research, Simone BONNAFOUS, or her representative
  • The director of Cultural, Academic and Research Cooperation, Ministry of Foreign and European Affairs, Pierre LANAPATS, or his representative

Representing the Institut de France:

  • Pierre-Sylvain FILLIOZAT, member of the Académie des Inscriptions et Belles-Lettres
  • Gilbert GUILLAUME, member of the Académie des Sciences Morales et Politiques
  • Jean-Noël ROBERT, member of the Académie des inscriptions et Belles-Lettres
  • Michel Zink, Perpetual Secretary of the Académie des inscriptions et Belles-Lettres

Representing the Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique (CNRS):

  • Alain FUCHS, president of the CNRS, represented by M. Pascal MARTY, deputy academic director (Europe and international) of the Institut des Sciences Humaines et Sociales

A former head of a public higher education and research institution:

  • Jean-Claude WAQUET, professor and former president, Ecole Pratique des Hautes Etudes (EPHE)

Professional members:

  • Jacques BERLIOZ, former director, Ecole Nationale des Chartes, research professor, CNRS
  • Sophie MAKARIOU, curator, director musée des Arts asiatiques - Guimet
  • Dominique PERREAU, diplomatic counselor to the French government
  • Hans VAN ESS, director, Max Weber Foundation

Representing the faculty of EFEO professors:

  • Arlo GRIFFITHS; sustitute: Dominic GOODALL

Representing the faculty of EFEO lecturers:

  • François LAGIRARDE
  • Philippe LE FAILLER; substitute: Christophe POTTIER

Representing EFEO administrative staff:

  • Lauriane LECAT-BACLE
  • Didier MARIETTE; substitute: Zohra SOLTANI


Consultative members (EFEO)

  • The director, Yves GOUDINEAU
  • The director of administrative services, Valérie LIGER-BELAIR
  • The chief financial officer, Christophe LE MAUX
  • The director of studies, Christophe MARQUET
  • The curator of the Library, Clément FROEHLICHER